Reproduction and translation for non-commercial purposes are authorised, provided the source is acknowledged and the European Parliament is given prior notice and sent a copy. Here we go again: another year, another (visual) review of all that has affected European borders in 2019. Any such measures should be exceptional, temporary and proportionate. Government to discuss extension of Schengen border control on Wednesday Written by BT/MTI The government will decide on Wednesday on whether to extend the current controls along the country's Schengen borders, an official of the operative board coordinating measures to contain the coronavirus epidemic told an online press conference. The unprecedented inflow of migrants and asylum-seekers that peaked in 2015 put great strain on the EU’s external borders, leading a number of Members States to reintroduce controls along some of their borders with other Member States. Currently there are six Schengen Member States that have temporarily reintroduced border controls along parts of their borders with other Member States in connection with foreseeable threats to public policy or internal security (mainly terrorism threats, secondary movements by irregular migrants and special events). In its legislative resolution on the proposal for a regulation amending the rules applicable to the temporary reintroduction of border control, adopted in April 2019, Parliament reiterated that the Schengen area is one of the Union’s main achievements and stressed the need for a common response to situations seriously affecting the public policy or internal security of the Schengen area. Under such circumstances, the police may for example ask you to identify yourself or pose questions regarding your stay, depending on the purpose of the check. Under Article 29 of the Code, a Member State may introduce temporary border checks at internal borders when there are persistent serious deficiencies in the external border management of a Member State, as demonstrated during a Schengen evaluation. Temporary border controls in the Schengen area | A number of information sharing mechanisms are central to this cooperation. Copyright © European Union, 2014-2019. EU citizens, non-EU residents and visitors to the EU need to be able to freely and safely travel within the Union. What can the EU do to alleviate the impact of the coronavirus crisis? Today, the Schengen Area encompasses most EU States, except for Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania. ( Log Out /  show submenu for "Schengen, Borders & Visas", Temporary Reintroduction of Border Control, temporarily reintroduce border control at its internal borders, the Commission's reports COM (2010) 554 on internal borders, COM (2012) 230 on the functioning of the Schengen area, COM (2013) 326 on the functioning of the Schengen area, documents needed for travelling in Europe, a common set of rules applying to people crossing the EU external borders, including the types of visa needed and how checks at external borders have to be carried out, harmonisation of the conditions of entry and of the rules on visas for short stays (up to three months), enhanced police cooperation (including rights of cross-border surveillance and hot pursuit), stronger judicial cooperation through a faster extradition system and transfer of enforcement of criminal judgments, take responsibility for controlling the external borders on behalf of the other Schengen States and for issuing uniform Schengen visas, efficiently cooperate with law enforcement agencies in other Schengen States in order to maintain a high level of security once border controls between Schengen countries are abolished, apply the common set of Schengen rules (the so-called "Schengen acquis"), such as controls of land, sea and air borders (airports), issuing of visas, police cooperation and protection of personal data.