This edition was held in England and Wales from 30th May to 14th July 2019. The event was first held in England in 1975. In 2003, Australia defeated India by 125 runs while in the 2007 tournament, they defeated Sri Lanka by 53 runs through Duckworth-Lewis-Stern method. India won by 43 runs and etched their name on the list of Cricket World Cup winners for the first time. List of T20 World Cup Winners | T20 (Twenty-Twenty Cricket) The first T20 World Cup Tournament was held in South Africa in 2007. They won the 1975 tournament by defeating Australia by 17 runs. This edition was jointly hosted by England, Wales, Ireland, Scotland and Netherlands. India was the first nation to break free of the mighty West Indies team. We hope that this effort will help you a …, Welcome to our Sports Website, we will help you become the Football team on Dream 11. The matches were played in broad daylight and each match consisted of 60 overs for each team, in which a single had six deliveries to be bowled. Mello, an orange mongoose was the mascot of 2007. Click on the country names for more country information, or click on the year for more information about the tournament for that year. Thus West Indies became the first entry to the list of Cricket World Cup winners. This edition was hosted jointly by Kenya, South Africa and Zimbabwe. It was then Stuart Robertson, the marketing manager of the ECB, who proposed that a new shorter format consisting of twenty overs per team be adopted. India scored 277, won the game by 6 wickets and became the Cricket World Cup winners for the 2nd time. India put up a low total of 183 runs on the board. Winners List. The cricket world cup made its entry into the game in 1975, with the first three events being contested in England before finally moving onto other lands with India being decided as the venue for the 1987 contest, also the first world cup that saw players adorn coloured outfits as opposed to the white ones opted for till then. 8 teams played the tournament and 60 overs were allotted per match. They also became the 2nd time to win the World Cup on homeground. In the finals at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore, Pakistan, the Aussies scored 241. Summary of Cricket World Cup 1983:Final Match Venue: Lord’s, LondonWinner Team: IndiaRunner Up: West IndiesMatch Result: India won by 43 runsMan of the Match: Mohinder Amarnath (India). The 3rd edition was also held in England and organized by the same International Cricket Council (ICC). 14 teams participated among which India and Australia reached the finals. The two inaugural tournaments were dominated by West Indies as the team, led by Clive Lloyd in both the occasions, dominated the entire tournament. The final was played between England and Pakistan. The final was played at Wanderers, Johannesburg, South Africa. This is the entire list of the ODI cricket World Cup winners and also the list of the T20 cricket World Cup winners with emphasis on all the winners. This made Australia Cricket World Cup winners for the 5th time. Sri Lanka successfully chased it down by scoring 245 runs. Your email address will not be published. Sri Lanka won the 1996 ODI World Cup under the captaincy of Arjuna Ranatunga. Apart from that, he loves traveling and listening to music. Later after 28 years, the team led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, went on to become the first nation to host the tournament and win it at the same time. Other details about the ODI World Cup winners till 2018. From the 1983 event, a 30 yards (27 metre) circle away from the stumps was introduced and it was made mandatory that four fielders should always remain inside the circle. It was also the first time that a host country has won the World Cup. (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); | Get Latest Cricket & Football news 2020 & Live Update from India | Live India sports news headlines | Read All Latest Indian cricket & football top news on Sportslibro Today | Catch all the exciting Trending News Here | We live and breathe just about sports intensively on cricket & football – everywhere, 24/7, The first ODI match was played between Australia and England on 5 January 1971 at the, After the FIFA World Cup, Summer Olympics and the Rugby World Cup, the ICC ODI Cricket World Cup is regarded as the 4, Details Of Cricket World Cup Finals (1975–2019), List View Of Cricket World Cup Finals (1975–2019), In the finals of 1987, the team led by Allan Border scored 253/5 batting first. However throughout the match, England had hit 26 boundaries while New Zealand had hit 17 boundaries. The first men’s World Cup was organised after four years, in 1975, while the women’s World Cup was organised two years prior to that, in 1973. We hope that this effort will help you a lot in making a team. Sri Lanka failed to chase the target as they scored just 215 runs. This was their first World Cup win and also the 3rd country to win the tournament on home soil. Pakistan won the game by 22 runs and for the first time became Cricket World Cup winners.